About Us

British Columbia Golf – a member-based organization governed by the British Columbia Golf Association (BCGA) – is the governing body of amateur golf in British Columbia, representing more than 54,000 members at over 250 clubs across the province.

Part of the mandate for British Columbia Golf is to provide programs that its members that its members are looking for to help enhance their enjoyment of the game.  This includes developing travel programs and providing information on golf travel in BC and in vacation destinations.  In addition, golfers from outside BC who visit this site can find information on BC golf destinations.  This helps grow the game at our member clubs.


The history of British Columbia Golf can be traced back to the first men’s championship conducted in 1893. The Bostock Trophy was awarded to the Men’s Amateur Champion starting in 1894 and the Flumerfelt Trophy was first awarded to the Women’s Amateur Champion in 1905. Both of these trophies are still awarded today.

British Columbia Golf as it exists today was formally established on October 1, 2004, following the amalgamation of the British Columbia Ladies Golf Association and the British Columbia Golf Association.

A voluntary Board of Directors, composed of elected representatives from Member Clubs and two Royal Canadian Golf Association Governors, meets a minimum of twice per year. Directors serve a two-year term and may be re-elected.

The Executive Director and staff are responsible for the day-to-day operation and the general administration duties of British Columbia Golf.